You are here

A Brief History

1985-1987

  • The importance of computers for development and modern technology and the need for specialists in this area is growing, after the penetration of computers in all aspects of life.
  • In this sense, and the reality of the projected need of national competence in the feild of computer, King Saud University council approved in 1402/1403H the creation of two academic programs in this area: a computer science program in the college of science, and a computer engineering program in the college of engineering.
  • Within a short span of time, these two programs gained immense popularity and a large number of students showed keen interest in joining such programs.
  • Consequently, the demand for computer professionals was growing exponentially.

1987-1999

  • To meet the demand as well as to promote this newly discovered field of knowledge, the idea to establish an independent unit evolved, and a special committee consisting of experts was formed.
  • In order to discover the best possible way of imparting knowledge in this new discipline, yhe committee conducted intensive studies and recommended that the establishment of an independent college should prove benefecial on the long run in promoting this emerging futuristic field of knowledge which is bringing a new technological revolution.
  • Following the recommendation of ACM and relevant international organizations, and in the light of socio-economic need of our country, the committee prepaed model curricula for each department of the college.
  • On 19/1/1420H a Royal Decree number 7/1558/m, was issued to formally establish the college of computer and information sciences at King Saud University, to be supported financially, administratively and academically like the other colleges in the university.

1999-current

  • The approval to start enrolling students in respective programs was issued in 1404/1405H.

أنت هنا

1402 - 1404 هـ

  • تزايدت أهمية الحاسب الآلي للتنمية والتقنية الحديثة والحاجة إلى متخصصين في هذا المجال بعد تغلغل الحاسبات في جميع أوجه الحياة.
  • ومن هذا المنطلق ومن واقع الحاجة المتوقعة للكفاءات الوطنية في مجال الحاسب الآلي وافق مجلس جامعة الملك سعود في بداية العام 1402/1403هـ على إنشاء برنامجين للدراسة في هذا المجال هما: برنامج علوم الحاسبات ضمن كلية العلوم وبرنامج هندسة الحاسبات ضمن كلية الهندسة.

1404 - 1420 هـ

  • بدأ البرنامجان نشاطهما وسرعان ما أقبل الطلاب عليهما إقبالاً شديداً مما جعل التفكير متجهاً إلى توسعة رقعة هذين البرنامجين.
  • وبناءً على ذلك تكونت لجنة من المتخصصين في هذا المجال من أعضاء هيئة التدريس بجامعة الملك سعود.
  • قامت هذه اللجنة بدراسات مستفيضة لبحث أفضل السبل والوسائل للنهوض بمناهج وبرامج علوم وهندسة الحاسبات في الجامعة، وانتهت إلى التوصية بإنشاء كلية تسمى كلية علوم الحاسب والمعلومات على أن يرفع الموضوع للجهات المختصة للبت فيه. كما قامت هذه اللجنة بالدراسات والبحوث اللازمة لوضع المناهج والمقررات للأقسام المختلفة في هذه الكلية.
  • على إثر ذلك صدر الأمر السامي الكريم برقـم 7/1558/م في 19/5/1404هـ بإقامة كلية علوم الحاسب والمعلومات وإلحاقها بجامعة الملك سعود بحيث يكون للكلية من الترتيبات المالية والإدارية والأكاديمية ما للكليات والمعاهد الأخرى التابعة للجامعة، وصدرت الموافقة على بدء الدراسة بها في مطلع العام الدراسي 1404/1405هـ.
  • بدأ قبول الطلاب في البرامج المختلفة في العام الدراسي 1404-1405 هـ